Luge Canada
EN
FR

History of Luge

Olympic Luge History

Competitive luge racing began in Switzerland in the late 1800's but it would be another 60 years before Canadian competitors took up the sport. It wasn't until the late 1950's that bobsledder Vic Emery introduced the sport to Canadians at a ski area in Quebec. Emery, who would go on to win Canada's first Olympic bobsleigh medal at the 1964 Winter Games in Innsbruck, Austria, was also the first Canadian Luge Champion.

Despite a long history and well established competitions in Switzerland, Germany and Austria, luge did not appear at the Olympic Games until 1964. Until then, most luge competitions took place on iced alpine roads and sometimes on 'tracks' with banked side walls. The traditional form of the sport evolved into the two disciplines of Olympic luge and Natural luge.

Olympics

Entry into the Olympics marked the beginning of a new era in the development of the sport as racing switched to artificial ice tracks with steeply-banked curves.

From the outset, European countries have dominated the sport. All Olympic medals from 1964 until 2002 have been won by four countries: Germany, Austria, Italy and the former USSR In recent years, however, other nations have been making inroads, most noticeably the United States which holds Olympic medals in the doubles competition at the 2002 Winter Games.

Luge in Canada

Luge Canada:

The Canadian Luge Association is a not-for-profit organization responsible for governing the sport of luge across the country. With the financial backing of the Government of Canada, Canadian Olympic Committee and Own the Podium, the Canadian Luge Association safely recruits and develops the nation's current and future high-performance luge athletes with the goal of regularly climbing onto the international podium.

Participation in the Olympics

Canada did not participate in the inaugural Olympic competition of 1964, but made its debut four years later at the 1968 Winter Games in Grenoble, France, posting a team high 31st in men's competition and 12th in the women's event.

Since that time, Canadian competitors have gained a lot of ground in international competition. Canada’s luge athletes are building from a record-setting performance at the 2014 Olympic Winter Games in Sochi, Russia where the team finished with three, heart-breaking fourth-place finishes and a fifth. Alex Gough and Kim McRae finished fourth and fifth respectively in women’s singles racing. Tristan Walker and Justin Snith teamed up for a fourth-place finish in doubles action before joining Alex Gough and Sam Edney for another heart-breaking fourth-place finish in the team relay which debuted at the Games in Sochi.

Canada’s luge athletes have been on steady progression over the years, continuously posting top results throughout the 1980’s and 1990s. Marie Claude Doyon's seventh place finish in the women's event at the Calgary Games in 1988, Bruce Smith's and Kyle Connelly's 11th place finishes in men's singles at Lake Placid in 1980 and Salt Lake City respectively and a fifth place in doubles posted by Chris Moffat and Eric Pothier at Salt Lake City in 2002 were the best finishes for years.

But with Canada being awarded the 2010 Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games, a new culture for winning was born in Canadian sport including Canada’s luge program.

1988 Olympic Legacy

The legacy of the 1988 Olympic Winter Games in Calgary has helped transcend Canada’s luge program – introducing hundreds of youth to the sliding sports. The bobsleigh/luge/skeleton track at Canada Olympic Park is home to Canada's Olympic Luge development program, which has trained many high-potential athletes since the track opened.

With the Olympic legacy in their backyard, Calgary’s Olympic legacy has introduced and developed many luge athletes into medal contenders at all levels internationally including this generation of Olympians such as: Alex Gough, Sam Edney, Tristan Walker, Justin Snith, Kim McRae who had a track to the podium paved for them by Regan Lauscher, Jeff Christie and the doubles team of Chris Moffat and Mike Moffat.

2010 Olympic Legacy

When Canada was awarded the 2010 Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games, a new culture for winning emerged in Canada and that mentality was no different for the Canadian luge program.

The construction of the world-leading Whistler Sliding Centre and the introduction of the Own the Podium program delivered the resources Canada’s luge athletes required to contend for the podium.

The Canadian Team has never looked back – developing the most successful group of athletes in the program’s history.

Once happy to wear the national uniform at elite competition, Canada’s luge program has been on a steady progression to the top of the international luge standings thanks to the hosting of the 2010 Olympic Winter Games at home. Now boasting a talented group of athletes winning medals in all race disciplines at all levels, Luge Canada is a medal contender each week and determined to win its first Olympic medal

The Whistler Sliding Centre gave birth to a pool of legacy babies on Canada’s west coast to the sliding sports including Youth Olympic Games medallist Reid Watts, and international medal winner Jenna Spencer. 

“Our goals as a program have been clear – to win medals at the Olympic Games. We have not, and will not, waver in our focus,” said Walter Corey, high-performance director, Luge Canada. “It takes depth to mount an attack on the podium, and thanks to Whistler we are now building that."

Destined to be the next generation of Canada’s great Olympians in the sport, the young lugers in British Columbia who have been following the track blazed for them, and are charging through the luge ranks.

“Reid and Brooke’s medals at the Youth Olympic Games, along with our success at the World Cup level exemplifies the benefits of hosting an Olympic Games at home. Vancouver 2010 has transcended our program, and along with our partners, a new high-performance culture has established luge in Whistler and across Canada. With our seniors leading the way, our next generation of Canadian luge athletes now believe they too can win. These performances are an inspiration to all athletes on the West Coast, and is a shared reward for our entire communities of partners and volunteers.”

Canadian Olympic Luge History

Men’s Singles Results

7th Samuel Edney XXI Vancouver 2010
11th Samuel Edney XXII Sochi 2014
11th Kyle Connelly XIX Salt Lake City 2002
11th Bruce Smith XIII Lake Placid 1980
14th Jeff Christie XXI Vancouver 2010
14th Jeff Christie XX Torino 2006
14th Chris Moffat XIX Salt Lake City 2002
15th Clay Ives XVIII Nagano 1998
17th Mark Jensen XIII Lake Placid 1980
18th Harington Telford XVI Albertville 1992
18th Tyler Seitz XVIII Nagano 1998
19th Samuel Edney XX Torino 2006
19th Tyler Seitz XIX Salt Lake City 2002
19th Harington Telford XV Calgary 1988
20th Ian Cockerline XXI Vancouver 2010
20th Clay Ives XVII Lillehammer 1994
24th Chris Wightman XV Calgary 1988
24th Chris Sudu XVI Albertville 1992
25th Larry Arbuthnot XI Sapporo 1972
26th Mitchell Malyk XXII Sochi 2014
27th John Fennell XXII Sochi 2014
27th Nil Labrecque XV Calgary 1988
31st Roger Eddy X Grenoble 1968
31st Larry Arbuthnot XII Innsbruck 1976
33rd Larry Arbuthnot X Grenoble 1968
35th Michael Shragge XII Innsbruck 1976
35th David McComb XI Sapporo 1972
37th Colin Nelson X Grenoble 1968
38th Doug Hansen XI Sapporo 1972
47th Darcy Coulson X Grenoble 1968

Women’s Singles Results

4th Alex Gough XXII Sochi 2014
5th Kim McRae XXII Sochi 2014
7th Marie Claude Doyon XV Calgary 1988
10th Regan Lauscher XX Torino 2006
12th Regan Lauscher XIX Salt Lake City 2002
12th Linda Crutchfield-Bocock X Grenoble 1968
13th Arianne Jones XXII Sochi 2014
15th Regan Lauscher XXI Vancouver 2010
16th Kathy Salmon XVI Albertville 1992
18th Alex Gough XXI Vancouver 2010
18th Martha Diplock X Grenoble 1968
18th Carole Keyes XII Lake Placid 1980
19th Kathy Salmon XV Calgary 1988
20th Alex Gough XX Torino 2006
22nd Carole Keyes XII Innsbruck 1976
22nd Danielle Nadeau XIII Lake Placid 1980
22nd Sue Rossi XIV Sarejevo 1984
23rd Mary Jane Bowie XII Innsbruck 1976
24th Carole Keys XIV Sarajevo 1984
25th Meaghan Simister XXI Vancouver 2010
26th Julie Chase XII Innsbruck 1976


Doubles Results

4th Tristan Walker/Justin Snith XXII Sochi 2014
5th Chris Moffat/Eric Pothier XIX Salt Lake City 2002
7th Chris Moffat/Mike Moffat XXI Vancouver 2010
8th Robert Gasper/Clay Ives XVII Lillehammer 1994
9th Chris Moffat/Mike Moffat XX Torino 2006
10th Grant Albrecht/Eric Pothier XX Torino 2006
10th Robert Gasper/Andre Benoit XV Calgary 1988
12th Grant Albrecht/Mike Moffat XIX Salt Lake City 2002
13th Chris Sudu/Dan Doll XVI Albertville 1992
14th Robert Gasper/Andre Benoit XVI Albertville 1992
15th Tristan Walker/Justin Snith XXI Vancouver 2010
16th Larry Arbuthnot/Doug Hansen XI Sapporo 1972
17th Larry Arbuthnot/Doug Hansen XII Innsbruck 1976
17th Harry Salmon/Dan Doll XV Calgary 1988
22nd Dave Mccomb/Mike Schragge XII Innsbruck 1976

Team Relay Results

4th Alex Gough/Sam Edney/Tristan Walker/Justin Snith XXII Sochi 2014

Youth Olympic Games Results

1st Brooke Apshkrum II Lillehammer 2016
3rd Reid Watts II Lillehammer 2016

Luge Canada
EN
FR

Histoire de luge

Histoire de luge Olympique

La luge compétitive a commencé en Suisse à la fin du 19e siècle mais c’était 60 ans plus tard que les Canadiens ont commencé à participer à ce sport. Effectivement, ce n’était qu’à la fin des années 1950 que le bobeur Vic Emery a démontré la luge aux Canadiens sur un parcours de ski au Québec. Emery, qui en 1964 aux Jeux Olympiques d’Innsbruck, Autriche gagnerait la seule médaille Olympique à date en bobsleigh pour le Canada, serait également le premier champion canadien de luge.

En dépit de son enracinement et sa longue histoire en Suisse, en Allemagne et en Autriche, la luge n’est arrivée aux Jeux Olympiques qu’en 1964. Jusqu’à ce moment-là, la plupart des compétitions de luge avaient eu lieu sur des voies alpines glacées et parfois sur des ‘pistes’ avec des murets relevés. La forme traditionnelle du sport a évolué en deux disciplines : la luge Olympique et la luge sur piste naturelle.

Jeux Olympiques

L’arrivée de la luge sur la scène Olympique a inauguré une nouvelle ère dans le développement du sport comme la compétition s’est adaptée à des pistes de glace artificielle dotées de virages ultra relevés.

Dès le début, les pays européens ont dominé le sport. En effet, quatre pays partagent toutes les médailles Olympiques gagnées entre 1964 et 2002 : l’Allemagne, l’Autriche, l’Italie et l’ancienne Union soviétique. Néanmoins, récemment d’autres nations ont commencé à menacer cet ordre établi, notamment les États-Unis, qui a gagné des médailles Olympiques en luge double aux Jeux d’hiver 2002.

La Luge au Canada

Luge Canada:

Organisme à but non lucratif, l’Association canadienne de luge est responsable de la régie du sport de luge au Canada. Avec l’appui financier du gouvernement du Canada, le Comité olympique canadien et À Nous le Podium, l’Association canadienne de luge recrute et développe en toute sécurité les athlètes de luge de haut niveau, en vue d’accéder aux marches des podiums internationaux. 

Participation canadienne aux Jeux Olympiques

Le Canada n’a pas participé à la première compétition de luge aux Jeux Olympiques de 1964, mais a fait ses débuts quatre ans plus tard, aux Jeux d’hiver de 1968 à Grenoble, France, où les hommes canadiens ont décroché un meilleur résultat de 31ème place, et les dames, 12ème place.

Depuis lors, les compétiteurs et compétitrices canadiens ont gagné beaucoup de terrain en compétition internationale. Les athlètes canadiens de luge bâtissent sur des résultats records aux Jeux Olympiques d’hiver 2014 à Sotchi, Russie, où l’équipe en est sortie avec trois résultats crève-cœur de quatrième place, plus un résultat de cinquième place. Alex Gough et Kim McRae se sont classées quatrième et cinquième respectivement en luge simple féminine. Tristan Walker et Justin Snith ont obtenu un résultat de quatrième place en compétition de doubles, puis se sont joints à Alex Gough et Sam Edney pour glisser vers le quatrième rang aux relais par équipes, la première fois où cette discipline s’est contestée aux Jeux.

Effectivement, les lugeurs et lugeuses canadiens ont fait des progrès constants au fil des années, et ils ont commencé à décrocher de bons résultats en compétition internationale aux années 1980 et 1990. Certains des résultats remarquables de cette époque incluent septième place pour Marie-Claude Doyon en luge simple féminine aux Jeux Olympiques de Calgary en 1988; onzième place pour Bruce Smith et Kyle Connelly en luge simple masculine, aux Jeux de Lake Placid 1980 et aux Jeux de Salt Lake City respectivement; et cinquième place en doubles par Chris Moffat et Eric Pothier aux Jeux de Salt Lake City en 2002.

Une nouvelle ère a commencé quand le Canada a été retenu pour accueillir les Jeux Olympiques et Paralympiques de 2010. Une nouvelle culture de victoire a animé tous les sports d’hiver, incluant le programme canadien de luge.

Patrimoine des Jeux Olympiques de 1988

Le patrimoine des Jeux Olympiques d’hiver de 1988 a certainement carburé le programme canadien de luge : grâce aux Jeux, des centaines de jeunes Canadiens et Canadiennes ont découvert les sports de glisse. La piste de bobsleigh/luge/skeleton au Parc olympique canadien abrite le programme de développement canadien de luge olympique, qui a attiré et entraîné bon nombre d’athlètes forts en potentiel depuis les débuts du programme.

Effectivement, le patrimoine olympique à Calgary a produit un nombre remarquable d’athlètes de luge accomplis, incluant des médaillés internationaux et des Olympiens, dont Alex Gough, Sam Edney, Tristan Walker, Justin Snith, Kim McRae, et avant eux, ceux et celles qui ont frayé la voie : Regan Lauscher, Jeff Christie et l’équipage de doubles de Chris Moffat et Mike Moffat.

Patrimoine des Jeux Olympiques de 2010

Quand le Canada a été retenu comme pays d’accueil des Jeux Olympiques et Paralympiques d’hiver 2010, le sport au Canada a subi une vraie révolution, et le pays a redoublé ses efforts pour gagner des médailles Olympiques. Le sport de luge a suivi ce même parcours.

La construction du Centre des sports de glisse de Whistler, reconnu comme une installation mondiale de premier rang, et la mise en place du programme À Nous le Podium ont muni les athlètes canadiens de luge des ressources nécessaires pour cibler le podium international.

Et l’équipe canadienne a usé remarquablement bien de ces ressources, en développant l’ensemble d’athlètes les plus réussis dans l’histoire du programme canadien.

Il n’y a pas si longtemps, les athlètes canadiens se contentaient d’enfiler la feuille d’érable et simplement participer aux événements internationaux élites. Mais au fil des dernières années, le programme canadien de luge connaît une progression remarquable, et le Canada trouve sa place parmi les nations en lice dans ce sport et ce, grâce en partie au fait d’avoir accueilli les Jeux Olympiques d’hiver 2010 à Whistler. Maintenant, Luge Canada se vante d’avoir un ensemble d’athlètes doués et accomplis, qui gagnent des médailles à travers les différentes disciplines et différents niveaux. À chaque événement où il participe, Luge Canada présente des athlètes qui ciblent rien moins que les marches du podium, et l’organisme vise à mettre la main sur sa première médaille olympique.

Le Centre des sports de glisse de Whistler a produit un groupe de jeunes athlètes de glisse qui ont poursuivi leur développement dans le sillage et le patrimoine des Jeux. Ces athlètes incluent Reid Watts, médaillé d’or aux plus récents Jeux Olympiques de la jeunesse, et Jenna Spencer, médaillée en compétition internationale.

«Notre mission avec ce programme est très claire – gagner des médailles aux Jeux Olympiques. Nous n’avons pas, et nous n’allons pas déroger à cet engagement,» a déclaré Walter Corey, directeur des programmes de haute performance, Luge Canada. «Il faut une certaine profondeur dans un programme pour prendre d’assaut le podium, et grâce à Whistler, nous mettons en place les éléments nécessaires.»

En Colombie-Britannique notamment, une nouvelle génération de futurs Olympiens et Olympiennes s’affirme déjà sur les pistes canadiennes et internationales.

«Les médailles obtenues par Reid et Brooke aux Jeux Olympiques de la jeunesse, alliées avec tous nos succès au niveau de Coupe du Monde, en disent long sur les bénéfices d’accueillir des Jeux Olympiques ici au Canada. Vancouver 2010 a transcendé notre programme, et avec l’appui de nos partenaires et parrains, une nouvelle culture de haute performance a pris racine pour la luge à Whistler et à travers le Canada. Avec nos athlètes seniors qui fraient la voie, une nouvelle génération de lugeurs et lugeuses canadiens a toute la confiance qu’eux aussi ont ce qu’il faut pour gagner. Ces résultats sont d’une grande inspiration à tous les athlètes de la Côte Ouest, et c’est un point de fierté pour nos communautés de partenaires et bénévoles.»

Résultats de luge pour le Canada aux Jeux Olympiques

Statistiques

Résultats de luge simple masculine

7ième Samuel Edney XXI Vancouver 2010
11ième Samuel Edney XXII Sochi 2014
11ième Kyle Connelly XIX Salt Lake City 2002
11ième Bruce Smith XIII Lake Placid 1980
14ième Jeff Christie XXI Vancouver 2010
14ième Jeff Christie XX Torino 2006
14ième Chris Moffat XIX Salt Lake City 2002
15ième Clay Ives XVIII Nagano 1998
17ième Mark Jensen XIII Lake Placid 1980
18ième Harington Telford XVI Albertville 1992
18ième Tyler Seitz XVIII Nagano 1998
19ième Samuel Edney XX Torino 2006
19ième Tyler Seitz XIX Salt Lake City 2002
19ième Harington Telford XV Calgary 1988
20ième Ian Cockerline XXI Vancouver 2010
20ième Clay Ives XVII Lillehammer 1994
24ième Chris Wightman XV Calgary 1988
24ième Chris Sudu XVI Albertville 1992
25ième Larry Arbuthnot XI Sapporo 1972
26ième Mitchell Malyk XXII Sochi 2014
27ième John Fennell XXII Sochi 2014
27ième Nil Labrecque XV Calgary 1988
31ère Roger Eddy X Grenoble 1968
31ère Larry Arbuthnot XII Innsbruck 1976
33ième Larry Arbuthnot X Grenoble 1968
35ième Michael Shragge XII Innsbruck 1976
35ième David McComb XI Sapporo 1972
37ième Colin Nelson X Grenoble 1968
38ième Doug Hansen XI Sapporo 1972
47ième Darcy Coulson X Grenoble 1968

Résultats de luge simple féminine

4ième Alex Gough XXII Sochi 2014
5ième Kim McRae XXII Sochi 2014
7ième Marie Claude Doyon XV Calgary 1988
10ième Regan Lauscher XX Torino 2006
12ième Regan Lauscher XIX Salt Lake City 2002
12ième Linda Crutchfield-Bocock X Grenoble 1968
13ième Arianne Jones XXII Sochi 2014
15ième Regan Lauscher XXI Vancouver 2010
16ième Kathy Salmon XVI Albertville 1992
18ième Alex Gough XXI Vancouver 2010
18ième Martha Diplock X Grenoble 1968
18ième Carole Keyes XII Lake Placid 1980
19ième Kathy Salmon XV Calgary 1988
20ième Alex Gough XX Torino 2006
22ième Carole Keyes XII Innsbruck 1976
22ième Danielle Nadeau XIII Lake Placid 1980
22ième Sue Rossi XIV Sarejevo 1984
23ième Mary Jane Bowie XII Innsbruck 1976
24ième Carole Keys XIV Sarajevo 1984
25ième Meaghan Simister XXI Vancouver 2010
26ième Julie Chase XII Innsbruck 1976

Résultats de doubles

4ième Tristan Walker/Justin Snith XXII Sochi 2014  
5ième Chris Moffat/Eric Pothier XIX Salt Lake City 2002
7ième Chris Moffat/Mike Moffat XXI Vancouver 2010
8ième Robert Gasper/Clay Ives XVII Lillehammer 1994
9ième Chris Moffat/Mike Moffat XX Torino 2006
10ième Grant Albrecht/Eric Pothier XX Torino 2006
10ième Robert Gasper/Andre Benoit XV Calgary 1988
12ième Grant Albrecht/Mike Moffat XIX Salt Lake City 2002
13ième Chris Sudu/Dan Doll XVI Albertville 1992
14ième Robert Gasper/Andre Benoit XVI Albertville 1992
15ième Tristan Walker/Justin Snith XXI Vancouver 2010
16ième Larry Arbuthnot/Doug Hansen XI Sapporo 1972
17ième Larry Arbuthnot/Doug Hansen XII Innsbruck 1976
17ième Harry Salmon/Dan Doll XV Calgary 1988
22ième Dave Mccomb/Mike Schragge XII Innsbruck 1976

Résultats de relais par équipes

4ième Alex Gough/Sam Edney/Tristan Walker/Justin Snith XXII Sochi 2014

Résultats des Jeux Olympiques de la jeunesse

1ère Brooke Apshkrum II Lillehammer 2016
3ième Reid Watts II Lillehammer 2016