Luge Canada
EN
FR

Wolfgang Staudinger

Head Coach
Birth Date:September 8, 1963
Hometown:Berchtesgaden, Germany
Residence:Calgary, AB
Retired:1989

Wolfgang Staudinger (nicknamed Staudi) returned to lead the Canadian Luge Team for a second time in 2007. Since taking head coaching reigns he has helped guide the program to medal-winning results at the World Championships and World Cups – not to mention an unprecedented, three fourths and a fifth-place, performance at the 2014 Olympic Winter Games.



Wolfgang brings a list of accomplishments, both as an athlete and coach with the German program, as long as the track his athletes train and compete on. While sliding for Germany between 1978 and 1989, he claimed an Olympic bronze medal, won gold at the European Championships, bronze at the World Championships, and racked up numerous World Cup performances during his illustrious career. 



After retiring in 1989, Staudinger moved to Canada for the first time to coach the national team for three years. His career as a coach has since taken off over the last two decades where he has worked with some of the top luge athletes in Canada, the United States and Germany. 



Staudinger has brought a level of consistency to the Canadian program, and has established a baseline on the equipment side, and has adopted world-leading technology that has made teams like the Germans so successful. 



Staudinger is married to Marie-Claude Doyon, who won a World Cup bronze medal for the Canadian Luge Team in 1987, and has one daughter, Rebecca.

Luge Canada
EN
FR

Wolfgang Staudinger

Entraîneur chef
Date de naissance 8 septembre 1963
Ville natale:Berchtesgaden, Germany
Résidence :Calgary, AB
À la retraite:1989

Wolfgang Staudinger (surnommé Staudi) a repris les rênes comme entraîineur en chef de l’équipe canadienne de luge en 2007. Durant son deuxième mandat aux commandes, l’équipe canadienne de luge a amassé bon nombre de médailles de Coupe du Monde et de Championnat du Monde, sans oublier le succès sans précédent aux Jeux Olympiques d’hiver 2014, où les Canadiens ont obtenu trois résultats de quatrième place et un résultat de cinquième place.

Wolfgang apporte à son poste une vaste expérience d’athlète et d’entraîneur accompli dans le programme allemand. Lorsqu’il concourait pour l’Allemagne entre 1978 et 1989, il a récolté une médaille de bronze olympique, il a remporté la victoire aux championnats européens et il est monté à la troisième marche du podium de Championnat du Monde, ceci au-delà de ses maints accomplissements et Coupe du Monde tout au long de sa remarquable carrière. 

Après avoir pris sa retraite de la compétition en 1989, Staudinger est venu au Canada pour entraîner l’équipe nationale pendant trois ans. Au fil des deux dernières décennies il a le vent en poupe en tant qu’entraîneur, travaillant avec les meilleurs athlètes de luge au Canada, aux États-Unis et en Allemagne. 

Staudinger a apporté une constance importante au programme canadien, tout en établissant des paramètres de référence en matière d’équipement. Il a prôné l’adoption des mêmes technologies de pointe qui ont procuré tant de succès aux autres nations, dont notamment son Allemagne native. 

Staudinger est marié à Marie-Claude Doyon, qui a gagné une médaille de bronze pour le Canada en Coupe du Monde de luge en 1987. Le couple a une fille, Rebecca.