Luge Canada
EN
FR

Cole Zajanski

Events: Singles
Team NextGen Elite Team
Sex:M
Birth Date:September 19, 2001
Hometown:Calgary
Instagram@cole_zajanski

A visit by his mom with a family friend is what led Cole into chasing an Olympic dream in the sport of luge.

Cole’s mom had to drive through Canada Olympic Park to meet her friend when she came upon a sign to sign up for luge. Next thing he knew, Cole was in the gym and on a track flying down the ice-covered chutes around the world.

Cole has been making steady progress working his way through the Canadian luge development pathway. His development took a giant step forward in 2020 when he competed in his first World Cup race in Altenberg, Germany. Cole teamed up with Devin Wardrope where they finished 13th in the doubles race.

The result didn’t shock those in the Canadian luge family. Afterall, Cole had finished 11th in his first World Junior Championships in singles racing and was fifth in the relay at the premiere international event for juniors.

Cole’s goals are to continue competing in both doubles and singles racing on the National Team with the ultimate goal of qualifying to represent Canada at the 2022 Olympic Winter Games in Beijing, China. 

When not training or competing, he likes to relax and spend time outside hiking, camping and spending time with friends. Cole enjoys reading and learning. He is currently taking time off from school to focus on his Olympic pursuit in luge. 

Career Highlights

2020 – World Cup, Altenberg, GER: 13 (doubles)
2020 – Canadian Championships, Whistler, CAN: 3
2020 – Junior World Championships, Oberhof, GER: 5 (relay), 11 (singles)

 

Past Results

2019/2020 Season

DateEventPlace
Mar. 13Whistler Canadian Championships3
Mar. 13Whistler Jr. Canadian2
Feb. 22Oberhof FIL Junior World Championships5
Feb. 21Oberhof FIL Junior World Championships11
Jan. 11Altenberg World Cup (Doubles)13

2018/2019 Season

DateEventPlace
Mar. 14Whistler Jr. Canadian2
Mar. 3Calgary Youth Canadian Championships1

2016/2017 Season

DateEventPlace
Mar. 9Whistler Jr. Canadian3
Mar. 9Whistler Jr. Canadian (Doubles)2
Mar. 5Calgary Youth Canadian Championships2
Feb. 19Winterberg Jr. World Cup13
Feb. 11Altenberg Jr. World Cup21
Dec. 3Calgary Jr. World Cup4
Dec. 1Calgary Jr. World Cup6

Luge Canada
EN
FR

Cole Zajanski

Événements: Luge simple
Équipe L'équipe NextGen Élite
SexeM
Date de naissance19 septembre 2001
Ville natale:Calgary
Instagram@cole_zajanski

C’était une sortie de sa mère pour rendre visite à une amie qui a mis Cole sur le chemin vers la réalisation d’un rêve olympique dans le sport de luge.

La mère de Cole devait passer par le Parc olympique canadien pour se rendre chez son amie, et c’est comme ça qu’elle a épié une affiche de recrutement pour les athlètes de luge. Peu après, Cole passait des essais dans un gymnase et parcourait la planète pour descendre des pistes de glace.

Cole a fait des progrès constants dans son cheminement de développement en luge. Il a fait un grand pas en avant en 2020 lorsqu’il a disputé sa première épreuve de Coupe du monde à Altenberg, Allemagne. Cole a fait équipage avec Devin Wardrope pour s’accrocher au 13ème rang à l’épreuve de luge double.

Ce résultat n’a pas été tellement surprenant pour la collectivité de luge canadienne : Cole avait terminé 11ème à son tout premier Championnat du monde dans la discipline de luge individuelle, et il a contribué à un résultat de 5ème place pour l’équipe canadienne de relais à ce même Championnat du monde junior.

Cole compte continuer à concourir au sein de l’équipe nationale dans les deux disciplines de luge individuelle et de luge double, avec le but ultime de se qualifier pour représenter le Canada aux Jeux olympiques d’hiver de 2022 à Pékin, Chine. 

Lorsqu’il n’est pas sur la piste pour les entraînements ou les compétitions, Cole se plaît à faire des activités en plein air telles que la randonnée et le camping, et tout simplement passer du temps avec ses proches. Cole aime lire et apprendre. Il prend un congé temporaire de ses études afin de se consacrer à plein temps à la poursuite de son rêve olympique.

Meilleurs résultats en carrière

2020 – World Cup, Altenberg, GER: 13 (doubles)
2020 – Canadian Championships, Whistler, CAN: 3
2020 – Junior World Championships, Oberhof, GER: 5 (relay), 11 (singles)

 

Résultats historiques

Saison 2019/2020

DateÉvénementLieu
Mar. 13Whistler Canadian Championships3
Mar. 13Whistler Jr. Canadian2
Feb. 22Oberhof FIL Junior World Championships5
Feb. 21Oberhof FIL Junior World Championships11
Jan. 11Altenberg World Cup (Doubles)13

Saison 2018/2019

DateÉvénementLieu
Mar. 14Whistler Jr. Canadian2
Mar. 3Calgary Youth Canadian Championships1

Saison 2016/2017

DateÉvénementLieu
Mar. 9Whistler Jr. Canadian3
Mar. 9Whistler Jr. Canadian (Doubles)2
Mar. 5Calgary Youth Canadian Championships2
Feb. 19Winterberg Jr. World Cup13
Feb. 11Altenberg Jr. World Cup21
Dec. 3Calgary Jr. World Cup4
Dec. 1Calgary Jr. World Cup6